My Transitioning Into A Technical Writer

THE BEGINNING...

·

4 min read

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

WRITING...

The vast growth in tech has led to my transition into being a technical writer. Writing is an expression, it is another means of in-depth communication with myself and with people. I have always loved writing but I never took it seriously, it was just an activity I do just to express myself in my phone notes. It really felt so good and easy because I could express myself fully without being judged and feel heard and better afterward. I have really written a lot of short articles in my phone notes, jottings from other articles and books I have read and I never got the ability or confidence to actually post any of my written works.

HOW IT ALL STARTED...

Over time I have realized that being a philosophy student entails a great amount of research, reading, and writing which made my transitioning quite easier. In 2021, I finally had the confidence to post up one of my write-up on medium medium.com/@otuesosa91/life-isnt-balanced-3.. . The thought of me posting it wandered in my head for a very long time until I decided to post it up on medium. It wasn't perfect, I felt I could do better but the confidence of me actually posting it up was a relief. I got some motivation from my close friends and other people and that was a push for me to continue.

The idea of being a technical writer came about when I got advice from a random person that read my article, she asked me, "Have you ever thought of being a technical writer?" I had an idea what it was but I have actually never thought about it as a profession. From then on, I started my research (one of the important skills you need to actually be a good writer/technical writer), learned a lot about it and I figured that it is also a means of adding knowledge and a wide reach out to help people who are interested in Tech, breaking down complex technical products/pieces of information to aid easy learning and understanding.

The realization that for me to be able to write about technical products, I need to have a wide understanding of these technical products felt like a chore for me at first but as time goes on, reading and learning about these technical products, languages, has been good and has increased my knowledge on Tech itself. There is no way you can write/break complex terms about something you fully don't understand.

PROGRESS TO MY GOAL...

I started this year with the goal of being an advanced technical writer. Honestly, it really hasn't been easy but I started my learning with the basics of programming languages such as; HTML,CSS & JAVASCRIPT, seeing as I need to understand better to be able to write about them in simpler terms. I have read and still reading various articles and books for further improvement on my writing skills and more information about Technical write-ups and information.

There are random days where I feel tired but the goal is to be consistent this year and I started this already by joining the "Hashnode community" and it really has been helpful to improve my writing skills. I have read various people's write-ups, guidelines. The plan is "consistency" and I am constantly building up to be better, like writing more, posting more at least once every week, reach out to other writers, until I have fully transitioned to being a Technical writer.

The idea behind this is that most people run away from Tech due to the complex pieces of information and large words that are being used to classify some important things in Tech (I was one of them). Once people are able to read a write-up that is well outlined and broken down into simple and easy terms it will aid more growth in Tech, which will be my own way of helping others grasp all these pieces of information easily. I will say, "Tech is growing and I think we should all grow with it"...

I wrote this as a motivation to those that are trying to transition into being a Technical writer and probably are not really interested in coding. So, instead of coding, why not help others with the simple understanding of coding. In my next article, I will share some of the articles and books that I am using for my transition process.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Esosa otu by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!